Monday, April 7, 2014

Auto Mode vs Manual Mode

So you just purchased your new DSLR camera and everyone keeps pressuring you to take it off of manual mode. All the "professionals" you know almost exclusively shoot in manual mode, and since imitation is the best form of flattery, you should also shoot in manual mode, right?
Photo by Alex Banakas
Well... maybe. I like to think of it like this. Your camera is basically just a tool, and that tool has some preset knowledge (modes) on it that makes it easier for the photographer. If you were going to make a new dish and had the recipe for it, would you steer away from it and add your own random ingredients, or stick to what's been done? I think that until you've made it a few times, or unless you've had some experience, sticking to what you know is the best policy.

Auto mode is your camera deciding what would work best in each situation, so you don't have to. Manual mode, is a little different, and gives YOU total control instead of the camera. There's also a few modes like AV (Aperture Priority) and TV (Shutter Priority) that allow for some manual control, but not total control that you can try out as well. What I would recommend is practicing on auto mode and trying to figure out what the camera is doing. 

Now by all means, don't stay on auto mode forever (what's the point of spending all that money if you're going to use your DSLR as a point and shoot?). But I do think that you should experiment with taking photos/video and trying out the different modes so you can become aware of what they do. Once you feel more confident and comfortable, you can surely switch to manual mode. Remember that you're only as good as your tool, so make sure you take the time to know how to use it!

No comments:

Post a Comment